Double helix

guanine

Genetic code
your gift to me
arranged by spindles
woven to a whole

GTCACTGATAGC

thymine

Though genes alone
are never enough
to explain what defines me
indelibly your daughter

GTCACTGATAGC

cytosine

Created from you
though my eyes be green
yours deepest brown
can a smile be found in our DNA?

GTCACTGATAGC

adenine

Absent now
your double helix
dances still
your gift to me

GTCACTGATAGC

2 responses to “Double helix

  1. I think you will need to read this to me so I can get the rhythm. Do you read out all the letters?
    A touching tribute to your mum.

    • It’s not strongly rhythmical. And, yes, I read out all the letters. I’m not sure how well that works (it’s hard to do!). I put in the strings of letters to draw attention to the four base code and that each of the four principle stanzas begins with a letter from the code. Each stanza has four lines, once again to highlight the structure of DNA. And thanks for taking the time to comment, Penny. It means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

