Mathematical relationship

Often I feel inadequate when poets make references to classics and mythology in their work since I have little knowledge of these. As I wrote my thesis the other night I realised that I do know something about maths. And so this poem was born. It may not be terribly original. It may be corny. But it was fun to write….

16
years
we worked on our simultaneous equation
only to find there was no solution
or rather, they were different

2
children
product of innumerable couplings
which, if graphed, would demonstrate
a reducing x against the y of time

25
days
until you kissed another
creating a new trigonometry
angles to be calculated

16152
hours
and counting
each free integer a celebration
inviting love’s calculus

 

2 responses to “Mathematical relationship

  1. Leafing through one of my old books of ideas I found a list of ‘mathematically complex counting songs for children’ – things like

    The ants went marching googol by googol
    Hurrah! Hurrah!

    And there was also an attempted binary version of ‘1, 2, skipafew, 99, 100!’ Maths is fun.

    PS Ever heard this one: ‘There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand binary, and those who don’t’. Right then. Just thought I’d try it anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

