A most difficult poem

‘Return’ has been a challenging poem for me to write. I have started it several times over the past few weeks. Tonight I felt impelled to finish it. I changed the structure to stanzas with four short lines and a ‘hanging’ word (incidentally I have almost no knowledge of correct poetic terminology). The ‘hanging’ words are, by and large, those that I wish to have the most impact. I feel exhausted but satisfied that the thoughts and memories have been spoken now. I can barely manage to read it again at the moment so I hope there are no typos that I have missed in posting it so quickly. My thanks to you for reading, as always.

Leave a Reply

