Where are the stars?

Sky so dark and full
Of pulsating lights
Dimmed only by the moon
Where I used to live

 

Swirling all night
As if

dancing

Visual music
Bringing wonder, and
Delighting my heart

 

Now I look to see
Those wondrous beacons
But instead
Grey sky, an orange tinge
Polluted by the lights of men

 

Stars still swirl

and dance

Eyes no longer discern
Yet my heart remembers
Visual music returns
As I close my eyes

One response to “Where are the stars?

  1. I wrote this poem tonight after work. It reflects on one aspect of homesickness but is, I think, ultimately hopeful since I can always recall the dance of the stars (and they are still dancing – I just can’t see them from here).

Leave a Reply

