Wirrawilla

I visited you today
Mum
In that dark and ancient place

 

The creek is running swiftly now
Full of Winter’s rain
I wonder what remains

of You there, as I

Stand upon the bridge, where once so long ago
You were swallowed by the flow

 

You would have laughed today
Mum
To see me dressed so
Two dresses, black of course
Jacket of pistachio green

stockinged feet, encased

By gumboots, bought in haste

 

You would have held me
Mum
And comforted me as I cried
For losses old and

fresh and new

And pondered hopes that died

 

You would have smiled though
Mum
And waved goodbye
As I dried my eyes and

changed my shoes

And bid you farewell once more

One response to “Wirrawilla

  1. What a touching poem. I can see the creek and feel how sad you are, standing in your gumboots.

Leave a Reply

